There is a LibGuide created for Psychology, Sociology, and Social Work. It is connected to a number of materials provided by Credo Digital Reference. It has short introductions to many theories and theorists, as well as links to encyclopedia type entries about those ideas.
Below is a sortable spreadsheet of various publishers. The list has publisher name, background (secular or Christian) and a comments column. This is meant to help understand the bias of a publisher.
Adoption and Safe Families Act of 1997
Multi-Ethnic Placement Act of 1994
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009
Patient Protect and Affordable Care Act of 2010
No Child Left Behind Act of 2001
Faith Based Initiatives - Executive Order (Bush)
Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007
Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994
Safe and Drug Free Schools Act of 2002
Violence Against Women Act of 1994
John Chafee Act/Foster Care Independence Act of 1999
Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974
Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990
Victims of Trafficking and Violence Protection Act of 2000
Defense of Marriage Act of 1996
Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act of 1988
These books are available online in our Credo Digital Reference.
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences by
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences, Eighth Edition, presents the extraordinary growth of research on aging individuals, populations, and the dynamic culmination of the life course, providing a comprehensive synthesis and review of the latest research findings in the social sciences of aging. As the complexities of population dynamics, cohort succession, and policy changes modify the world and its inhabitants in ways that must be vigilantly monitored so that aging research remains relevant and accurate, this completely revised edition not only includes the foundational, classic them
Global Social Issues by
This landmark reference is a comprehensive, one-stop, interdisciplinary resource that examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Nearly 150 in-depth, balanced, and thought-provoking articles cover a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, and immigration.
Key Concepts in Public Health by
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice
Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences by
This deep two-volume, 1,200-entry pair offers students, teachers, and librarians expert advice and analysis to an overwhelming amount of secondary material available in the social sciences. Fully cross-referenced, the title identifies the key published works and includes evaluative essays on a vast number of topics. An excellent research and collection development tool.
In the research process, it is a good idea to start with reference materials. Here you learn the names of authors, scholars and theorists, dates, key terminology, and names of theories. This is where you begin to learn background information.
Encyclopedia of Elder Care by
This interdisciplinary clinical reference encompasses hundreds of current entries on a broad range of topics related to geriatrics and geriatric care across multiple health care disciplines. The third edition reflects the many advances in geriatrics that have occurred since the publication of the second edition in 2006. It contains the updated, evidence-based contributions of more than 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare professionals regarding elder-care concerns relating to society, community, caregiving, and the individual.
The Social Worker's Guide to the Social Sciences by
This is an A-Z guide to the various social science disciplines that inform and impact on social work practice. This book will complement and build on the success of the Dictionary of Social Work. 350 - 400 entries will outline the key concept being discussed, and the impact it has on social work practice.
Dictionary of Social Work by
This is a one-stop-shop for students looking to get an insight into the key issues and concepts involved in social work. This dictionary offers both undergraduate and postgraduate students a resource that they will be able to refer to again and again during their studies.
Encyclopedia of Social Problems by
Provides as comprehensive an approach as possible to this multifaceted field, utilizing experts from numerous disciplines. These subject areas include anthropology, biology, business, chemistry, communications, criminal justice, demography, economics, education, environmental studies, geography, health, history, languages, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and women's studies.
Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work by
As Canadians, we are all touched by some aspect of social welfare, either as recipients, donors, or taxpayers. But despite the importance of the social network in our country, there has been no single source of information about this critical component of our society. Even professionals in the field of social work or social services have not had a comprehensive volume addressing the myriad features of this critical societal structure. The Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work fills this need." "Over five hundred topics important to Canadian social work are covered, written by a highly diverse group of social workers representing all aspects of the field and all areas of the country. Practitioners, policy makers, academics, social advocates, researchers, students, and administrators present a rich overview of the complexity and diversity of social work and social welfare as it exists in Canada." "The principal finding from this project upholds the long-held perception that there is a uniquely Canadian model of social work that stands as a useful model for other countries. The Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work is an important source of information for both Canadians and interested groups around the world.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America by
The Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America is a unique reference work that provides readers with basic information about the history of social welfare in Canada, Mexico, and the United States. The intent of the encyclopedia is to provide readers with information about how these three nations have dealt with social welfare issues, some similar across borders, others unique, as well as to describe important events, developments, and the lives and work of some key contributors to social welfare developments. In choosing a continental focus, editors John M. Herrick and Paul H. Stuart encourage readers to explore cross-national and comparative work in the development of social welfare history." "The encyclopedia defines social welfare broadly to include education, informal mutual assistance, the development of the social work profession, and voluntary charitable activities as well as state supported public welfare activities. The coverage is broad and interdisciplinary, including the fields of anthropology, health sciences, history, political science, social work, and sociology." "No other reference work takes this unique approach, and as such, this will be a much needed acquisition for any academic or large public library with a social science collection. Beginning students as well as established scholars will find this an invaluable starting point for investigations into new areas of inquiry.
Life Pacific University Alumni Library | 1100 W. Covina Blvd | San Dimas, CA 91773 | Ph: (909) 706-3009 | Email: library@lifepacific.edu
Return to Life Pacific University homepage | Log in to LPU email