PRODUCTIVITY SOFTWARE: EndNote Basic

1 - go to my.endnote.com
2 - enter username and password

To be functional, you must install two "plug-ins". One plug-in, "Capture Reference", sits in your bookmarks bar and allows you to import citations of websites and articles/books from databases (though you may need to fill-in some of the blanks). The other plug-in, "Cite While You Write" will allow you to simply add citations to your papers while you type in Microsoft Word.

1 - Log in to my.endnote.com.
2 - click on the "Options" tab near the top of the screen.
3 - from that new list, click "Download Installers".
4 - Click and drag the "Capture Reference" button onto your bookmarks/favorites bar. You may want to put it in the bookmarks/favorites bar of each of the browsers you use.

1 - Log in to my.endnote.com.
2 - click on the "Options" tab near the top of the screen.
3 - from that new list, click "Download Installers".
4 - Download the appropriate "Cite While You Write" plug-ins (Chrome and Safari are not supported. IE is the "Windows" version. The Firefox is called an "extension" and is to the right).
5 - Follow their installation instructions after the download is complete.

1 - Log in to my.endote.com.
2 - Commit search in catalog or database (EBSCO, ProQuest, or Google Scholar).
3 - Select title you wish to read and use in your paper/project.
4 - On the materials page, click "cite/export" (WorldCat catalog), "export" (any EBSCO database), "export/save" (any ProQuest database), or "cite" (from Google Scholar's results list).
5 - Choose the appropriate citation style (MLA for most undergraduate work, Chicago/Turabian Humanities, or APA for graduate work).
6 - Click "Capture Reference" on your Bookmarks or Favorites bar.

Citation will then appear in your list of references in EndNote.

Google Scholar, and some other databases, allow you to "Capture" all of the items on a page, all at one time.

Captured citations are often incomplete. There is enough information to find the item again, but often there is not enough for a complete citation. In that case, it is best to manually complete the citation.

You must have installed "Cite While You Write" plug-in before this works.

1 - In Word, select "EndNote" tab at far right of the Microsoft ribbon.
2 - Select a bibliographic "Style" in the "Bibliography" portion of the ribbon. (MLA for most undergraduate work, Chicago/Turabian Humanities for upper division Bible for Biblical Studies majors, or APA for graduate work).
3 - Click "Update Citations and Bibliography".

Click "Bibliography" to open and format.

Click "Configure Bibliography" to make changes.

1 - Log in to my.endnote.com
2 - Click on "My References" tab, found on the left of the top row of tabs.
3 - Select which references you want to group together (think about which references go to which paper).
4 - Click "Add to group" from the drop-down and select "New group".
5 - Name the "group" and click "OK".

It is a good idea to keep all the references for one paper in one group and references for another paper in another group.

1 - Log in to my.endnote.com.
2 - Click on "Format" tab near the top of the screen,
3 - from that new list, click "Bibliography".
4 - Choose which references you wish to be included in the bibliography by selecting references or "group".
5 - Select which bibliographic style you need (MLA for most undergraduate work, Chicago/Turabian Humanities for upper division Bible for Biblical Studies majors, or APA for graduate work). 
6 - Choose which type of file format you want (txt will only be the text and you would have to underline and italicize everything that needed that. rtf would keep the right formatting.)
7 - Choose what you want done with the created bibliography.

1 - Log in to my.endote.com.
2 - Commit search in catalog or database (EBSCO, ProQuest, or Google Scholar).
3 - Select title you wish to read and use in your paper/project.
4 - On the materials page, click "cite/export" (WorldCat catalog), "export" (any EBSCO database), "export/save" (any ProQuest database), or "cite" (from Google Scholar's results list).
5 - Choose the appropriate citation style (MLA for most undergraduate work, Chicago/Turabian Humanities for upper division Bible for Biblical Studies majors, or APA for graduate work).
6 - Choose "EndNote", "EndNote Web", or "RIS filetype" as the filetype to be exported.
7 - "Open" or "Save",if necessary, that file and citation will appear in EndNote's Library of citations.

You must have installed "Cite While You Write" plug-in before this works.

1 - Place cursor in Word where the citation is needed.
2 - Click "EndNote" tab at far right of the Microsoft ribbon.
3 - Click "Insert Citation" from the "EndNote" toolbar.
4 - Search for the author or title of the reference and select it.
5 - Click "Insert" and reference will appear AND entry will be placed in Bibliography.

If you need to change the format of the citation, click "Format Bibliography".

If you need to add page numbers or title of article in encyclopedia, then click "Edit Citation".