Skip to main content

Life Pacific University Alumni Library: Databases and Digital Reference

Databases

Databases are collections of subscriptions to journals, magazines, ebooks and other materials. Each database can be searched separately or all can be searched together within our WorldCat catalog. Some databases are “hosted” by other companies. The major database hosts that we use are ProQuest and EBSCO.

EBSCO

  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (Bible/Theology/Ministry)
  • Business Source Premier
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
  • GreenFILE (Environmental Science)
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
  • Audiobook Collection
  • eBook Collection
  • eBook Academic Collection (General Academics)
  • eBook Business Collection (Business/Entrepreneurship)
  • Regional Business News

ProQuest

  • ABI/INFORM Complete (Business)
  • PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (Health/Medicine)
  • ProQuest Research Library (General Academics, including Religion)
  • PsycARTICLES (Psychology/Health/Medicine)

Gale

  • Gale Business Insights: Essentials - Gale Business Insights: Essentials delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. Gale Business Insights: Essentials makes it easy for researchers to use in-depth information on U.S. businesses, industries, and products.
  • Gale Academic OneFile - Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. With extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, researchers are able to find accurate information and articles in both PDF and HTML formats with ease.
  • Gale Business: Entrepreneurship - Gale Business: Entrepreneurship is a comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. Experience an easy-to-browse interface mapped to four key stages—plan, fund, start, and manage—to fit your research needs at any point in your business's development.
  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context - Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Best Resource Chooser

Digital Reference Materials

Reference materials are general or broad knowledge resources. These items are searchable by topic and will produce results that can be considered academic and scholarly.


American National Biography – Biographies of Americans whose lives shaped the nation. Includes illustrations and links to other resources.
Credo Digital Reference – a collection of over 700 titles with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library - a growing collection of reference titles covering a diverse set of subject areas from religion to business and everything in between. 

Statista - Access over 1 million statistics and facts - Statista provides statistics and data within 600 industries and 50+ countries.

 

Evaluation Forms

Evaluation forms are available for websites and for articles. These will help the student determine if the resource is of good academic quality and could be used in a paper or project.

Life Pacific University Alumni Library | 1100 W. Covina Blvd | San Dimas, CA 91773 | Ph: (909) 706-3009 | Email: library@lifepacific.edu

Return to Life Pacific University homepage | Log in to LPU email