Skip to main content

Life Pacific University Alumni Library: Resources

About the Library

Established through the LIFE Alumni Association, the university library provides information resources for academic pursuit and a comfortable place to study. In addition, technological resources continue to become available to support academic pursuits, with the library offering an online catalog, 40,000 physical books, over 150,000 electronic books, numerous databases and digital reference materials.

Physical Collection

The library maintains a strong theological collection, and growing collections in the areas of business, general education, psychology, and worship arts. The library’s physical holdings exceed 40,000 volumes and are growing monthly. Careful selection of new materials by staff and faculty contribute to the quality of the library’s collection. 
Circulating Materials (upstairs) — Circulation materials are those materials that may be checked out by patrons and removed from the library premises. 
Non-Circulating Reference Materials (downstairs) - Non-Circulating materials are items that may be used within the library premises, but are not typically checked out by patrons. Exceptions exists for different patrons types (See Policies page for borrowing privileges). These resources are typically reference books and archival material (with certain restriction.
Reserve Materials (behind circulation counter) - Reserve materials are determined from the Academic Office’s book list, and by faculty and administration request. Library patrons may view materials for limited time periods (2 hours is typical). Reserve materials often include books, articles, CD and DVD’s, as well as legal and institutional documents that must be available for public access.

Also Available

The Library has 11 desktop computers for students to use (available on a first come first served basis). The only printer on campus for students to print papers. And two computers with the LOGOS suite of Biblical Studies software.

The Library also has tablets and laptops to checkout. They must be used in the Library, but are available if you are in need.

We just purchased a document camera for use by faculty. If any faculty are interested in checking out the document camera, come by and ask at the circulation desk.

LibGuides

The library has created guides to help students with resources for their course assignments.  Each guide contains an assignment page providing help for specific assignments in the course, a sources page suggesting relevant sources and how to use them, and a citation page with guides on how to properly cite materials. To search for a guide for your course Libguides, click here.

Evaluation Forms

Evaluation forms are available for websites and for articles. These will help the student determine if the resource is of good academic quality and could be used in a paper or project.

Databases

Databases are collections of subscriptions to journals, magazines, ebooks and other materials. Each database can be searched separately or all can be searched together within our WorldCat catalog. Some databases are “hosted” by other companies. The major database hosts that we use are ProQuest and EBSCO.

EBSCO

  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (Bible/Theology/Ministry)
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
  • GreenFILE (Environmental Science)
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
  • Audiobook Collection
  • eBook Collection
  • eBook Academic Collection (General Academics)
  • eBook Business Collection (Business/Entrepreneurship)
  • Regional Business News

ProQuest

  • ABI/INFORM Complete (Business)
  • PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (Health/Medicine)
  • ProQuest Research Library (General Academics, including Religion)
  • PsycARTICLES (Psychology/Health/Medicine)

Gale

  • Gale Business Insights: Essentials - Gale Business Insights: Essentials delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. Gale Business Insights: Essentials makes it easy for researchers to use in-depth information on U.S. businesses, industries, and products.
  • Gale Academic OneFile - Gale Academic OneFile, provides extensive coverage in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology, researchers are able to find accurate information and articles in both PDF and HTML formats with ease.
  • Gale Business: Entrepreneurship - Gale Business: Entrepreneurship is a comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. Experience an easy-to-browse interface mapped to four key stages—plan, fund, start, and manage—to fit your research needs at any point in your business's development.
  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context - Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues.

 

Memberships, Associations and borrowing agreements

Best Resource Chooser

Digital Reference Materials

Reference materials are general or broad knowledge resources. These items are searchable by topic and will produce results that can be considered academic and scholarly.


American National Biography – Biographies of Americans whose lives shaped the nation. Includes illustrations and links to other resources.
Credo Digital Reference – a collection of over 700 titles with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - a growing collection of reference titles covering a diverse set of subject areas from religion to business and everything in between. 

Statista - Access over 1 million statistics and facts - Statista provides statistics and data within 600 industries and 50+ countries.

Theses and Dissertations

THESE ARE NOT IN OUR CATALOG, YOU MUST SEARCH THROUGH THEIR WEBSITES

Theses and dissertations are the writings submitted at the conclusion of doctoral programs and some masters programs. Each institution has its own guidelines for length and style. These collections are Open Access. That means that the author has retained the copyright, but that their material is freely available, instead of being part of a paid subscription service database.

Life Pacific University Alumni Library | 1100 W. Covina Blvd | San Dimas, CA 91773 | Ph: (909) 706-3009 | Email: library@lifepacific.edu

Return to Life Pacific University homepage | Log in to LPU email