Skip to main content

Life Pacific College Alumni Library: Resources

About the Library

Established through the LIFE Alumni Association, the college library provides information resources for academic pursuit and a comfortable place to study. In addition, technological resources continue to become available to support academic pursuits, with the library offering an online catalog, 40,000 physical books, over 150,000 electronic books, numerous databases and digital reference materials.

Physical Collection

The library maintains a strong theological collection, and growing collections in the areas of business, general education, psychology, and worship arts. The library’s physical holdings exceed 40,000 volumes and are growing monthly. Careful selection of new materials by staff and faculty contribute to the quality of the library’s collection. 
Circulating Materials (upstairs) — Circulation materials are those materials that may be checked out by patrons and removed from the library premises. 
Non-Circulating Reference Materials (downstairs) - Non-Circulating materials are items that may be used within the library premises, but are not typically checked out by patrons. Exceptions exists for different patrons types (See Policies page for borrowing privileges). These resources are typically reference books and archival material (with certain restriction.
Reserve Materials (behind circulation counter) - Reserve materials are determined from the Academic Office’s book list, and by faculty and administration request. Library patrons may view materials for limited time periods (2 hours is typical). Reserve materials often include books, articles, CD and DVD’s, as well as legal and institutional documents that must be available for public access.

Also Available

The Library has 9 desktop computers for students to use (available on a first come first served basis). The only printer on campus for students to print papers. And two computers with the LOGOS suite of Biblical Studies software.

The Library also has tablets and laptops to checkout. They must be used in the Library, but are available if you are in need.

We just purchased a document camera for use by faculty. If any faculty are interested in checking out the document camera, come by and ask at the circulation desk.

LibGuides

The library has created guides to help students with resources for their course assignments.  Each guide contains an assignment page providing help for specific assignments in the course, a sources page suggesting relevant sources and how to use them, and a citation page with guides on how to properly cite materials. To search for a guide for your course Libguides, click here.

Evaluation Forms

Evaluation forms are available for websites and for articles. These will help the student determine if the resource is of good academic quality and could be used in a paper or project.

Databases

Databases are collections of subscriptions to journals, magazines, ebooks and other materials. Each database can be searched separately or all can be searched together within our WorldCat catalog. Some databases are “hosted” by other companies. The major database hosts that we use are ProQuest and EBSCO.

EBSCO

  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (Bible/Theology/Ministry)
  • GreenFILE (Environmental Science)
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
  • Audiobook Collection
  • eBook Collection
  • eBook Academic Collection (General Academics)
  • eBook Business Collection (Business/Entrepreneurship)

ProQuest

  • ABI/INFORM Complete (Business)‚Äč
  • PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (Health/Medicine)
  • ProQuest Entrepreneurship (Business/Entrepreneurship)
  • ProQuest Research Library (General Academics, including Religion)
  • PsycARTICLES (Psychology/Health/Medicine)

Ancestry: Library Edition – Search your ancestry and unlock the story of you with sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.

Consortium of Pentecostal Archives – Includes full-text, primary documents by Aimee Semple McPherson and the Foursquare (Bridal Call, and Crusader magazines) from as early as 1917

ERIC – Education Resources Information Center – is a digital library of educational research and information sponsored by the US Department of Education.

EMQ (Evangelical Missions Quarterly) - Email a Life Pacific College Librarian to receive the username and password (we have limited access to this resource). Once you have received the username and password got to: EMQ signin page.

PubMed - US National Library of Medicine - is a digital library of medical and psychological research and information sponsored by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, a depart of the National Institute of Health.

Memberships, Associations and borrowing agreements

ALA (American Library Association)- Organizational member

APU (Azusa Pacific University)- a reciprocal borrowing agreement. If you need an item that we don't carry, you can come to us and get a library borrowing card. It allows you to borrow up to three items.

CLA (California Library Association) - Institutional member

CLC (Christian Library Consortium) - Member. This is a subset of ACL (Association of Christian Librarians). An InterLibrary Loan agreement for exchange of requested resources.

Foothill Library Consortium - Member

SCATLA (Southern California Theological Library Association)- Affiliate Member. An InterLibrary Loan agreement for exchange of requested resources.

SCELC (Statewide California Electronic Library Consortium) - Member. An InterLibrary Loan agreement for exchange of requested resources. Also a reciprocal Faculty Borrowing Program allows faculty to go to and borrow items from another participating library.

Pick the Best Resources Link

Digital Reference Materials

Reference materials are general or broad knowledge resources. These items are searchable by topic and will produce results that can be considered academic and scholarly.

African American Biographical Database – Biographies of African Americans in the United States between 1790 to 1950. Contains extended narratives of African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, church and missionary leaders, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more.
American National Biography – Biographies of Americans whose lives shaped the nation. Includes illustrations and links to other resources.
Credo Digital Reference – a collection of over 700 titles with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks.
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 – More than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. A valuable historical tool for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
Historical Newspapers – Find the full text of every article in every issue of The Times newspaper during one of the most important periods in the social, political and economic development of the industrialized world. Covers all aspects of British and American life and world affairs in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Oxford Art Online – Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single, elegant gateway users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Oxford English Dictionary – the dictionary of the English language, tracing definitions through history and includes quotations.

Theses and Dissertations

THESE ARE NOT IN OUR CATALOG, YOU MUST SEARCH THROUGH THEIR WEBSITES

Theses and dissertations are the writings submitted at the conclusion of doctoral programs and some masters programs. Each institution has its own guidelines for length and style. These collections are Open Access. That means that the author has retained the copyright, but that their material is freely available, instead of being part of a paid subscription service database.

Life Pacific College Alumni Library | 1100 W. Covina Blvd | San Dimas, CA 91773 | Ph: (909) 706-3009 | Email: library@lifepacific.edu

Return to Life Pacific College homepage | Log in to LPC email