Skip to main content

BIBLICAL STUDIES: Home

Welcome to Biblical Studies LibGuide

All LibGuides are works in progress. This LibGuide is complete enough for the public. In this LibGuide you will find links to many items that can help you in the areas of Biblical Studies and exegesis. The various tabs lead you types of resources. All of the resources found in this LibGuide are available through our Library. Many of the items are eBooks, so available online, while others are physical books available in the physical library.

Publishers and Their Theological / Denominational Bias

Below is a sortable spreadsheet of various Christian publishers. The list has publisher name, theological/denominational background and a comments column. This is meant to help understand the theological bias of a publisher.

Resources of Interest

Journals in EBSCO

Title (SBL abbreviation) - Full Text of all articles from earliest to the Present - many have articles indexed, but not full text even earlier. If you want those articles you must request them through InterLibrary Loan (ask a Librarian).

Biblica (Bib) - Full Text 1966-Present
Bibliotheca Sacra (BSac) - Full Text 1934-Present
Catholic Bible Quarterly (CBQ) - Full Text 1939-Present
Journal for the Study of the New Testament (JSNT) - Full Text 2012-Present
Journal for the Study of the Old Testament (JSOT) - Full Text 1976-Present
Journal of Biblical Literature (JBL) - Full Text 1890-Present
Journal of Pentecostal Theology - Full Text 1992-Present
Journal of the American Academy of Religion (JAAR) - Full Text 1967-Present
Journal of the Evangelical Theology Society (JETS) - Full Text 1958-Present
Novum Testamentum (NovT) - Full Text 1956-Present
Vestus Testamentum (VT) - Full Text 1951-Present
Zeischrift Fur Die Alttestamentliche Wissenschaft (ZAW) - Full Text 1933-Present [many articles in English]

To search within one of those journals, in ATLAS, put "JN" in the first box and follow that with the complete journal title in quotation marks, ie JN "Catholic Bible Quarterly". You will then enter your search terms in the other boxes.

Databases and LibGuides Related to Subject

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

Biblical studies, theology, ministry, and religion - premier database of peer reviewed articles, reviews, and citations. You will need to choose "EBSCOhost Web" and then select "Choose Databases" from along the top of the search engine area.

IVP Bible Dictionaries

These are the IVP Bible Dictionaries in electronic form, hosted by Credo Digital Reference. They are searchable or you can use the Table of Contents to find your article.

Consortium of Pentecostal Archives

Includes full-text, primary documents by Aimee Semple McPherson and the Foursquare (Bridal Call, and Crusader magazines) from as early as 1917. Includes other early Pentecostal authors as well.

ProQuest Research Library

Multidisciplinary subject coverage from scholarly, trade, and consumer publications.

BIBL 329 OLD TESTAMENT FOUNDATIONS

This course explores the major themes of the Old Testament. Particular attention will be given to the themes of creation, calling, covenant, redemption, holiness, theocracy, testing, exile and return.

BIBL 331 JESUS AND THE KINGDOM

This course will compare the three Synoptic Gospel accounts of Jesus' life and ministry. An emphasis will be place upon his proclamation and demonstration of the Kingdom of God and the importance of his message for today.

BIBL 610 LEADERSHIP ETHICS IN THE OLD TESTAMENT

This course explores specific sections within the Old/First Testament that describe and prescribe the ethical values of God and the diverse depictions of leadership and their varied outcomes. The course examines in general contemporary ethical theories an

THEO 500 LEADERSHIP THEOLOGY

This course explores key theological positions that undergird ministry leadership and will help students build a biblical foundation for strategic, transformational, and ethical leadership. Attention is given to how biblical truth and well-developed theol

THEO 600 THEOLOGY AND WORLDVIEW

This course explores Christian theology as it interacts with the diversity and complexity of various worldviews. Attention is given to defining, identifying, and critiquing various aspects of and contributing factors in the development of a worldview, as

Evaluation Form

Life Pacific College Alumni Library | 1100 W. Covina Blvd | San Dimas, CA 91773 | Ph: (909) 706-3009 | Email: library@lifepacific.edu

Return to Life Pacific College homepage | Log in to LPC email