Skip to main content

CITATION GUIDE: Encyclopedia Entries

This LibGuide is an attempt to demonstrate proper citations (bibliography and footnotes) for three different styles (MLA, APA, and SBL). For definitive works, please consult the physical manuals.

Books

The sequence of the information in a citation differs based on the preference of the style guide. APA, which is mostly used in sciences, places the date of publication as the second item. It does this to stress the importance of currency of information. In the humanities, the date is not usually as important and so the date is placed last in MLA and in SBL.

APA hint: if a quotation is used, then you must cite the page number within the citation. So a note would not be just the author's last name and the year, but would include a page number (or chapter, if appropriate).

(Talbert, 1992, p. 47) OR (Talbert, 1992, Chapter 6) - notice it is "p." for page and "Chapter" for chapter.

Entry in Reference Book including Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

MLA 8th edition

Works Cited Page

Stendahl, Krister. "Biblical Theology, contemporary." The Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible, edited by George A. Buttrick, vol. 1, Abingdon Press, 1962, pp. 418-32.

Works Cited Page (if multiple articles from the set are used, you cite the set)

The Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible. Edited by George A Buttrick, Abingdon Press, 1962. 4 vols.

Citation (in-text)

(Stendahl 1: 418-32)

APA - 7.02

Reference Page

Stendahl, K. (1962). Biblical theology, contemporary. In G. A. Buttrick (Ed.), The interpreter's dictionary of the Bible (1:418-32). New York, Abingdon Press.

Reference Page (if multiple articles from set are used, you cite the set)

Buttrick, G. A. (Ed.). (1962). The interpreter's dictionary of the Bible (4 vols.). New York: Abingdon Press.

Citations (in-text)

(Stendahl, 1962)

SBL - 7.2.29

Reference Page

Stendahl, K. “Biblical Theology, Contemporary.” Pages 418–32 in vol. 1 of The Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible. Edited by G. A. Buttrick. 4 vols. Nashville: Abingdon, 1962.

Reference Page (if multiple articles from set are used, you cite the set)

Buttrick, G. A. ed. The Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible. 4 vols. Nashville: Abingdon, 1962.

First Citation

33 K. Stendahl, “Biblical Theology, Contemporary,” IDB 1:418–32.

Other Citations

36 Stendahl, “Biblical Theology,” 1:419.

Entry in a Lexicon

MLA 8th edition

Works Cited Page

Dahn, Karl and Walter L. Liefeld. "See, Vision, Eye." New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology, edited by Colin Brown, vol. 3, Zondervan, 1975-1985, pp. 511-21.

Works Cited Page (if multiple articles from teh same set are used, you cite the set)

New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology. Edited by Colin Brown, Zondervan, 1975-1985. 4 vols.

Citations (in-text)

(Dahl and Liefeld 3:511-521)

APA - 7.02

Reference Page

Dahn, K., & Liefeld, W. (1975-1985). See, vision, eye. In Brown, C. (Ed.), New international dictionary of New Testament theology (3:511-21). Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

Reference Page (if multiple articles from set are used, you cite the set)

Brown, C. (Ed.). (1975-1985). New international dictionary of New Testament theology (4 vols.). Grand Rapids: Zondervan.

Citations (in-text)

(Dahn & Liefeld, 1978)

SBL - 7.2.29

Reference Page

Dahn, K. and W. Liefled. "See, Vision, Eye." Pages 511-21 in vol. 3 of New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology. Edited by Colin Brown. 4 vols. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1975-1985.

Reference Page (if multiple articles from set are used, you cite the set)

Brown, Colin, ed. New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology. 4 vols. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1975–1985.

First Citation

3 K. Dahn, W. Liefeld, “See, Vision, Eye,” NIDNTT 3:511–21.

Other Citations

29 Dahn, NIDNTT 3:511.

Life Pacific College Alumni Library | 1100 W. Covina Blvd | San Dimas, CA 91773 | Ph: (909) 706-3009 | Email: library@lifepacific.edu

Return to Life Pacific College homepage | Log in to LPC email