CITATION GUIDE: Books

Works Cited Page

Talbert, Charles H. Reading John: A Literary and Theological Commentary on the Fourth Gospel and the Johannine Epistles. Crossroads, 1992.

Citations (in-text)

(Talbert 127)

Reference Page

Talbert, C. H. (1992). Reading John: A literary and theological commentary on the fourth Gospel and the Johannine Epistles. New York: Crossroad.

Citations (in-text)

(Talbert, 1992)

Reference Page/Bibliography

Talbert, Charles H. Reading John: A Literary and Theological Commentary on the Fourth Gospel and the Johannine Epistles. New York: Crossroad, 1992.

First Citation (footnote)

15 Charles H. Talbert, Reading John: A Literary and Theological Commentary on the Fourth Gospel and the Johannine Epistles (New York: Crossroad, 1992), 127.

Other Citations (footnote)

19 Talbert, Reading John, 22.

Works Cited Page

Robinson, James M. and Helmut Koester. Trajectories Through Early Christianity. Fortress Press, 1971.

Citations (in-text)

(Robinson and Koester 237)

Reference Page

Robinson, J. M., & Koester, H. (1971). Trajectories through early Christianity. Philadelphia: Fortress Press.

Citations (in-text)

(Robinson & Koester, 1971)

-For a work with three or more authors, include the name of only the first author plus "et al." in every citation including the first citation, unless doing so would create ambiguity.

Kapoor. Bloom, Montez, Warner, and Hill (2020)

Kapoor, Bloom, Kim, Jones-Miller, and Daly (2019)

Citations (in-text)

(Kapoor et al., 2020)

(Kapoor, Bloom, Kim, et al. (2019)

Reference Page/Bibliography

Robinson, James M., and Helmut Koester. Trajectories through Early Christianity. Philadelphia: Fortress, 1971.

First Citation (footnote)

4 James M. Robinson and Helmut Koester, Trajectories through Early Christianity (Philadelphia: Fortress, 1971), 237.

Other Citations (footnote)

12 Robinson and Koester, Trajectories, 23.

Works Cited Page

National Research Council. Beyond Six Billion: forecasting the World's Population. Natl. Acad., 2000.

Citiation (in-text)

(Natl. Research Council 147)

If a reference has a group author, the name of the group can sometimes be abbreviated. You are not obligated to abbreviate the name of a group author, but you can if the abbreviation is well-known, will help avoid repetition or will appear at least three times in the paper.

In the reference list entry, do not abbreviate the group author name. Instead spell out the full name of the group as represented in the source.

Reference Page

National Research Council. (2000). Beyond six billion: Forecasting the world's population. Washington: Natl. Acad.

As with other abbreviations, provide the full name of the group on first mention in the text, followed by the abbreviation

Citations (in-text)

(National Research Council [NRC], 2000)

Subsequent citations

(NRC, 2000)

Reference Page/Bibliography

Beyond Six Billion: forecasting the World's Population. Washington: National Academy, 2000.

First Citation (footnote)

23 Beyond Six Billion: forecasting the World's Population, (Washington: National Academy, 2000), 147.

Other Citations (footnote)

25 Beyond, 183.

*Turabian 

Corporate Authors - When no personal author is listed on the title page (see 17.1.1.3)

Bibliography

American Bar Association. The 2016 Federal Rule Book. Chicago: American Bar Association, 2016.

Works Cited page

Schillebeeckx, Edward. The Schillebeeckx Reader. edited by Robert J. Schreiter, T&T Clark, 1986.

Citations (in-text)

(Schillebeeckx 20)

Use the abbreviation "(Ed.)" for one editor and the abbreviations "(Eds.)" for multiple editors.

Reference Page

Schillebeeckx, E. (1986). The Schillebeeckx reader. R. J. Schreiter (Ed.). Edinburgh: T&T Clark.

Citations (in-text)

(Schillebeeckx, 1986)

Reference Page/Bibliography

Schillebeeckx, Edward. The Schillebeeckx Reader. Edited by Robert J. Schreiter. Edinburgh: T&T Clark, 1986.

First Citation (footnote)

45 Edward Schillebeeckx, The Schillebeeckx Reader (ed. Robert J. Schreiter; Edinburgh: T&T Clark, 1986), 20.

Other Citations (footnote)

47 Schillebeeckx, Reader, 123.

*Turabian

First Citation (footnote)

45 Edward Schillebeeckx, The Schillebeeckx Reader, ed. Robert J. Schreiter (Edinburgh: T&T Clark, 1986), 20.

Works Cited Page

Attridge, Harold A. "Jewish Historiography." Early Judaism and Its Modern Interpreters, edited by R. A. Kraft and G. W. E. Nickelsburg, Fortress Press, 1986, pp 311-43.

Citations (in-text)

(Attridge 311-43)

Reference Page

Lewin, K. (1999). Group decision and social change. In M. Gold (Ed.), The complete social scientist: A Kurt Lewin reader (pp.265-284). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/10319-010 (original work published 1948)

Citations (in-text)

(Lewin, 1948/1999)

Reference Page/Bibliography

Attridge, Harold A. “Jewish Historiography.” Pages 311–43 in Early Judaism and Its Modern Interpreters. Edited by R. A. Kraft and G. W. E. Nickelsburg. Philadelphia: Fortress, 1986.

First Citation (footnote)

3 Harold W. Attridge, “Jewish Historiography,” in Early Judaism and Its Modern Interpreters (ed. R. A. Kraft and G. W. E. Nickelsburg; Philadelphia: Fortress, 1986), 311–43.

Other Citations (footnote)

6 Attridge, “Jewish Historiography,” 314–17.

​*Turabian - Note the different placement of the Page numbers and how the editors are formatted. Also, the footnote identifies the page number of the quote while the bibliography identifies the page range of the work.

Attridge, Harold A. “Jewish Historiography.” In Early Judaism and Its Modern Interpreters, edited by R. A. Kraft and G. W. E. Nickelsburg, 311-43. Philadelphia: Fortress, 1986.

First Citation (footnote)

3 Attridge, Harold A. “Jewish Historiography.” In Early Judaism and Its Modern Interpreters, edited by R. A. Kraft and G. W. E. Nickelsburg, (Philadelphia: Fortress, 1986), 312.

Works Cited page

Tigay, Jeffrey H., editor. Empirical Models for Biblical Criticism. University of Pennsylvania P, 1985.

Citations (in-text)

(Tigay 35)

Reference Page

Tigay, J. H. (Ed.). (1985). Empirical models for biblical criticism. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press.

Citations (in-text)

(Tigay, 1985)

Reference Page/Bibliography - * If there is an editor in addition to an author the formate changes. Include "Edited by" and the editors First name, middle initial, and last name right after the title of the work. See 17.1.1.1 for examples.

Tigay, Jeffrey H., ed. Empirical Models for Biblical Criticism. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1985.

First Citation (footnote)

5 Jeffrey H. Tigay, ed., Empirical Models for Biblical Criticism (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1985), 35.

Other Citations (footnote)

9 Tigay, Empirical Models, 38.

Works Cited page

Nickelsburg, George W. E., and Robert A. Kraft, editors. Early Judaism and Its Modern Interpreters. Fortress Press, 1986.

Citations (in-text)

(Nickelsburg and Kraft xii)

Reference Page

Nickelsburg, G. W. E., & Kraft, R. A. (Eds.). (1986). Early Judaism and its modern interpreters. Philadelphia, PA: Fortress.

Citations (in-text)

(Nickelsburg, G. W. E., & Kraft, R. A., 1986)

Reference Page/Bibliography

Kraft, Robert A., and George W. E. Nickelsburg, eds. Early Judaism and Its Modern Interpreters. Philadelphia: Fortress, 1986.

First Citation (footnote)

44 Robert A. Kraft and George W. E. Nickelsburg, eds., Early Judaism and Its Modern Interpreters (Philadelphia: Fortress, 1986), xii.

Other Citations (footnote)

47 Kraft and Nickelsburg, Early Judaism, xii.

Works Cited page

Blass, F. and A. Debrunner. Grammatica del greco del Nuovo Testamento. Edited by F. Rehkoph, translated by G. Pisi, Paideia, 1982.

Citations (in-text)

(Blass and Debrunner 40)

Reference Page

Blass, F., & Debrunner, A. (1982). Grammatica del greco Nuevo Testamento. F. Rehkoph (Ed.). (G. Pisi, Tran.). Brescia: Paideia.

Citations (in-text)

(Blass & Debrunner, 1982)

Reference Page/Bibliography

Blass, F., and A. Debrunner. Grammatica del greco del Nuovo Testamento. Edited by F. Rehkopf. Translated by G. Pisi. Brescia: Paideia, 1982.

First Citation (footnote)

3 F. Blass and A. Debrunner. Grammatica del greco del Nuovo Testamento (ed. F. Rehkopf; trans. G. Pisi; Brescia: Paideia, 1982), 40.

Other Citations (footnote)

18 Blass, Grammatica, 42.

*Turabian

First Citation (footnote)

3 F. Blass and A. Debrunner. Grammatica del greco del Nuovo Testamento ed. F. Rehkopf; trans. G. Pisi (Brescia: Paideia, 1982), 40.

Other Citations (footnote)

Works Cited page

Boers, Hendrickus. Introduction. How to Read the New Testament: An Introduction to Linguistic and Historical-Critical Methodology. By Wilhelm Egger, translated by P. Heinegg, Hendrickson, 1996, xi-xxi.

Citations (in-text)

(Boers xi-xxi)

Reference Page

Boers, H. (1996). Introduction. In W. Egger (Ed.), How to read the New Testament: An introduction to linguistic and historical-critical methodology (xi-xxi). (P. Heinegg, Trans.). Peabody, MA:Hendrickson.

Citations (in-text)

(Boers, 1996)

Reference Page/Bibliography

Boers, Hendrikus. Introduction to How to Read the New Testament: An Introduction to Linguistic and Historical-Critical Methodology, by Wilhelm Egger. Translated by P. Heinegg. Peabody, Mass.: Hendrickson, 1996.

First Citation (footnote)

2 Hendrikus Boers, introduction to How to Read the New Testament: An Introduction to Linguistic and Historical-Critical Methodology, by Wilhelm Egger (trans. P. Heinegg; Peabody, Mass.: Hendrickson, 1996), xi–xxi.

Other Citations (footnote)

6 Boers, “Introduction,” xi–xx.

*Turabian Note: If the part you are quoting in the introduction(forward, afterward, etc.) is someone other than the author, then give the "part" author's name first and the book author's name after the title. See 17.1.8.1 

Works Cited page

Pritchard, James B., editor. Ancient Near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament. 3rd ed., Princeton UP, 1969.

Citations (in-text)

(Ancient Near Eastern Texts xxi)

Reference Page

Pritchard, J. B. (Ed.). (1969). Ancient Near Eastern texts relating to the Old Testament. (3rd ed.). Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press.

Citations (in-text)

(Ancient Near Eastern, 1969)

Reference Page/Bibliography

Pritchard, James B., ed. Ancient Near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament. 3d ed. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1969.

First Citation (footnote)

87 James B. Pritchard, ed., Ancient Near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament (3d ed.; Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1969), xxi.

Other Citations (footnote)

110 Pritchard, Ancient, 123.

*Turabian

First Citation (footnote)

87 James B. Pritchard, ed., Ancient Near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament, 3d ed. (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1969), xxi.