Skip to main content

RESEARCH STRATEGIES FOR PAPERS OR PROJECTS: Choose Your Search Resources

A Word about Sources

Just as in life, it is best to use the right tool for the right task. A hammer is best used on nails, not on lightbulbs. Knowing what types of materials are available for use is important, but so is knowing how to use them. This page should help you understand what the various materials are and how to use them.

As a library we are a repository of informational materials. We have information in many different formats (Books, journals, magazines, CDs, DVDs, .mp3s, and even VHS).

Where and How to Search for Material in Our Catalogs

Our WorldCat catalog is a catalog of all of our books and vaious media. It, by default, also has some ebooks and some journals articles, but not all. To try and search all of our materials, you would have to change which databases are included in the search.

From there, you would check the boxes for all the databases that you want added to your search. This is a nice way to search most of our materials. This will not search 100% of the catalog with equal precision. The problem is that some databases interface just a little differently than WorldCat, so some things are not discoverable though WorldCat. To solve that problem, it is sometimes necessary to go to the individual databases themselves.

EBSCO

  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (Bible/Theology/Ministry)
  • GreenFILE (Environmental Science)
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
  • Audiobook Collection
  • eBook Collection
  • eBook Academic Collection (General Academics)
  • eBook Business Collection (Business/Entrepreneurship)

ProQuest

  • ABI/INFORM Complete (Business)
  • GeoRef (Science/Technology)
  • International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (Arts)
  • PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (Health/Medicine)
  • ProQuest Entrepreneurship (Business/Entrepreneurship)
  • ProQuest Research Library (General Academics, including Religion)
  • PsycARTICLES (Psychology/Health/Medicine)

Ancestry: Library Edition – Search your ancestry and unlock the story of you with sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.

Consortium of Pentecostal Archives – Includes full-text, primary documents by Aimee Semple McPherson and the Foursquare (Bridal Call, and Crusader magazines) from as early as 1917

ERIC – Education Resources Information Center – is a digital library of educational research and information sponsored by the US Department of Education.

EMQ (Evangelical Missions Quarterly) - Email a Life Pacific College Librarian to receive the username and password (we have limited access to this resource). Once you have received the username and password got to: EMQ signin page.

PubMed - US National Library of Medicine - is a digital library of medical and psychological research and information sponsored by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, a depart of the National Institute of Health.

Reference Materials

Reference materials are general or broad knowledge resources. These items are searchable by topic and will produce results that can be considered academic and scholarly.

African American Biographical Database – Biographies of African Americans in the United States between 1790 to 1950. Contains extended narratives of African American activists, business people, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, church and missionary leaders, government workers, athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more.
American National Biography – Biographies of Americans whose lives shaped the nation. Includes illustrations and links to other resources.
Credo Reference – a collection of over 700 titles with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks.
Historical Newspapers – Find the full text of every article in every issue of The Times newspaper during one of the most important periods in the social, political and economic development of the industrialized world. Covers all aspects of British and American life and world affairs in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Oxford Art Online – Oxford Art Online offers access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single, elegant gateway users can access—and simultaneously cross-search—an expanding range of Oxford’s acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
Oxford Biblical Studies – a comprehensive resource (Biblical texts/translations, handbooks, encyclopedias and concordances) for Biblical Studies using materials produced by Oxford University Press. 
Oxford English Dictionary – the dictionary of the English language, tracing definitions through history and includes quotations.

Web Resources - a note

The internet is an incredible source of misinformation and inaccuracies. Searching the internet can reveal some good information, but it is sometimes hard to tell truth from fiction.

In general, always check the "about us" page of every website before using it for information. As a rule, do not use sites that do not reveal who they are, are the work of an individual, or are the work of someone that is not published.

For raw data, the various government sites are very helpful. Look for the .gov at the end of the URL to identify it as coming from the federal government. The various states are identified as the two letter postal code followed by .us, so California would be .ca.us. Dot CA, by itself is the Canadian country code.

For academic works, I would recommend limiting your internet searches to Universities, colleges, museums and libraries. In the US those are all identified with .edu in the URL. .ac is used in most of the rest of the English speaking world for academic institutions.

To limit your searches to those domains, use google.com/advanced_search. Go to the "sites or domains" section and enter ".edu .ac". Or from the basic search bar enter "site:.edu OR site:.ac" with the rest of your search query. Notice that there are no spaces between the colon and what follows.

Life Pacific College Alumni Library | 1100 W. Covina Blvd | San Dimas, CA 91773 | Ph: (909) 706-3009 | Email: library@lifepacific.edu

Return to Life Pacific College homepage | Log in to LPC email