LibGuides: ICST 115 FOUNDATIONS IN GLOBAL ENGAGMENT: Religions and People Groups

Quick Links

Life Pacific University Library
Link to our Library page
Search our Catalog
Link to our advanced catalog

Dewey Decimal Summaries
A more detailed break down of the Dewey Decimal System by the keepers of all things Dewey. The summaries start on page 9.
Library Jargon
a document that gives brief definitions of commonly used library jargon

Video Tutorials and Handouts
A link to another LibGuide that has all our video tutorials and handouts.

CRAAP Evaluation Checklist
A form to help you evaluate an article for its use in research.

Other Resources Related to Your Assignment

"Global Prayer Digest"
From US Center for World Missions
"The Joshua Project"
Unreached people groups presented by US Center for World Missions
"Religion on the Web"
Links for study of various religious groups found on the Wabash Center for Teaching and Learning on Theology and Religion.
World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Adopt a People Group
Information about people groups and a very nice selection of links to sending agencies.
Ethnologue
**A subscription service with limited access.** A website dealing with languages and the extent of translation of the Bible.

Hinduism Resources

Hinduism by Kim Knott
Call Number: 294.5 K759h
ISBN: 9780192853417
Publication Date: 1998-07-23
Understanding Hinduism by Dayanand Bharati
Call Number: 294.3423 B469u
ISBN: 9788121511421
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
The Hindu Pantheon by Edward Moor; Burton Feldman (Editor); Robert D. Richardson (Editor)
Call Number: 294.5211 M78h
ISBN: 9780824035679
Publication Date: 1984-03-01

Library Religion Resources Related to Your Assignment

Encyclopedia of the Third World by George Thomas Kurian
Call Number: Ref. 909.09724 K965e 1992
ISBN: 9780816022618
Publication Date: 1991-06-01
Atlas of Global Christianity by Steve Johnson; Todd M. Johnson (Editor); Kenneth R. Ross (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. OS 270 A88
ISBN: 9780748632671
Publication Date: 2009-12-21
Encyclopedia of Global Religion by Mark Juergensmeyer
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781452266565
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The Encyclopedia of World Religions by Robert S. Ellwood; Gregory D. Alles
Call Number: Ref. 200.3 E1921
ISBN: 9780816061419
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: Ref. 200.3 E192
ISBN: 9780028657332
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Operation World by Jason Mandryk
Call Number: Ref. 266.0021 M312o 2010
ISBN: 9780830857234
Publication Date: 2010-10-15
Window on the World by Daphne Spragett; Jill Johnstone
Call Number: 266 S71w
ISBN: 9781850783589
Publication Date: 2005-09-22
Macmillan Compendium by Melvin Ember (Editor); Carol R. Ember (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. 305.8003 C899
ISBN: 002865367X
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
Target earth : the necessity of diversity in a holistic perspective on world mission by Jansen, Frank Kaleb, ed.
Call Number: 266.0021 T174
ISBN: 0927545012
Publication Date: 1989

Digital Reference Related to Topic

Credo Digital Reference This link opens in a new window
General studies - a collection of over 700 titles with particular emphasis on encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Includes a book collection of the IVP Bible Dictionaries.
Articles can be translated into Spanish at the click of a button.

Religion - Reference by Credo
by Josh Ortega Last Updated Oct 5, 2022 372 views this year

Buddhism Resources

Peoples of the Buddhist World by Paul Hattaway
Call Number: Ref. 294.337 H288p
ISBN: 9781903689905
Publication Date: 2005-11-02
The A to Z of Buddhism by Charles S. Prebish
Call Number: 294.303 P911a
ISBN: 9780810840690
Publication Date: 2001-07-26
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Robert E. Buswell (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. 294.303 E19
ISBN: 9780028657189
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
2 vol. set.

Resources Recommended by Your Instructor

Perspectives on the World Christian Movement by Ralph D. Winter; Steven C. Hawthorne; Darrell R. Dorr; D. Bruce Graham; Bruce A. Koch
Call Number: 266 P432 2009
ISBN: 9780878083909
Publication Date: 2013-06-13

Two major journals in the area of Missions are, International Bulletin of Missionary Research and Missiology: an international review. Both of these titles are available and searchable in the ATLA/ATLAS database. The articles will be full text (you can read the whole article). Click the link below and select the ATLA/ATLAS database. Click on that link, click, "EBSCOhost Web", and then "choose databases" (found along the top of that new page).

A-Z Databases
Choose from our entire list of databases and websites to find the information you are looking for!
more...less...
The Best Bets were chosen by the Librarians at Life Pacific. Consider searching multiple databases to get the widest perspective on your research.

Dewey Numbers Related to Your Assignment

248 Christian Experience

266 Missions

269 Spiritual Renewal

hint: everything from 240-269 is possible to use, as it all deals with Christian life, theology, the Church and missions.

Islam Resources

Muslim Peoples by Richard V. Weekes (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. 301.452971 M974
ISBN: 0837198801
Publication Date: 1978-05-01
The Oxford Dictionary of Islam by John L. Esposito (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. 297.03 E65o
ISBN: 9780195125580
Publication Date: 2003-05-15
Islam - A Guide for Jews and Christians by F. E. Peters
Call Number: 297 P442i
ISBN: 9780691115535
Publication Date: 2003-04-13
Encountering the World of Islam by Keith E. Swartley (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. 297 E562
ISBN: 9781932805246
Publication Date: 2005-11-02