Skip to main content

ENG 103 ENGLISH COMP AND RESEARCH: Tracking Your Resources

Importance of Tracking Your Resources

The very first thing you should do when you find a relevant resource is - KEEP A COPY OF THE CITATION.

That one tip can save you from being found guilty of plagiarism. It is essential in all academic work to cite your sources. The easiest way to do this is to create the citation before you read the content of the source. Creating citations is not nearly as difficult as you may believe. In fact, if you are a regular user of the library catalog and our databases, you can have the vast majority of citations created for you. That's right, the catalog and our major databases create citations for you. Your only real task is to double check that it is up to date with the current style guides and to make sure you put it in alphabetical order in your "works" page.

Create a Profile in order to save time and hassle later

Our WorldCat catalog and our two major database hosts (ProQuest and EBSCO) provide you with the opportunity to create a person profile on their site. By creating a profile (username and a password) you will be allowed to save searches or items for later use. Those saved searches can then be used to create your citations. Also, having a profile will allow you to download eBooks, if available, from those services. Take the time to create a profile and you will appreciate it later.

Creating Citations from WorldCat Catalog

After you have selected an item from the results list, you are taken to a materials page. The materials page is only about that one resource. Along the top are the bibliographic information of author, title and publication data. You can create your own citiation OR you can let WorldCat create one for you. In the upper right-hand corner, you will find a series of links to things like print and email.

In that list you could "add to list" and this would be saved in a list for you to look at later. Or, you can click "Cite/Export" and WorldCat will create a citation for you.

WorldCat can also "export" your citation to four different citation generators, including EndNote and EasyBib.

No matter which you choose, citation or export, always check the citation against the most current style guide, you want it to be correct and consistent in your paper.

Creating Citations from EBSCO database host

After you have selected an item from the results list, you are taken to a materials page. The materials page is only about that one resource. In the middle of the webpage are the bibliographic information of author, title and publication data. You can create your own citiation OR you can let EBSCO create one for you. Along the right-hand side, you will find a series of links to things like print and email.

In that list you could "add to folder" and this would be saved in a folder for you to look at later. Or, you can click "Cite" and EBSCO will create a citation for you.

EBSCO can also "export" your citation to several different citation generators, including Zotero, EndNote, and EasyBib.

No matter which you choose, citation or export, always check the citation against the most current style guide, you want it to be correct and consistent in your paper.

Creating Citations from ProQuest database host

After you have selected an item from the results list, you are taken to a materials page. The materials page is only about that one resource. Along the top of the webpage are the bibliographic information of author, title and publication data. You can create your own citiation OR you can let ProQuest create one for you. Just above the title, you will find a series of links to things like print and email.

In that list you could "Save to My Research" and this would be saved in a folder for you to look at later. Or, you can click "Cite" and ProQuest will create a citation for you.

ProQuest can also "export" your citation to several different citation generators, including EndNote, and EasyBib.

No matter which you choose, citation or export, always check the citation against the most current style guide, you want it to be correct and consistent in your paper.

A Note about Zotero

Zotero is a free, browser based citation generator. It is not the only one available, but it is free, which does make it stand out. Originally, it was just an extention for Firefox, but has now become compatible with several other browsers, Chrome and Safari included. With Zotero, you go to a webpage, and open Zotero, the extention box is to the side, and then allow Zotero to gather the information to create a citation. That information is then available within various word processor programs, including MS Word and LibreOffice.

Life Pacific College Alumni Library | 1100 W. Covina Blvd | San Dimas, CA 91773 | Ph: (909) 706-3009 | Email: library@lifepacific.edu

Return to Life Pacific College homepage | Log in to LPC email